Today seems like a good blogging day. I’m making bread today so I can’t do much except hang out at home and wait for it to rise and rise some more. The weather is also cloudy and chilly, again. Anyway, it’s the perfect day to blog! I’ve been wanting to put up a few of my favorite recipes and recipes make for easy blog posts.

Last night I decided to make homemade pizza. I figured making the dough would be a cinch since I make bread often and it’s pretty much the same process.  So I found a recipe and got started. I dissolved the yeast in some warm water and waited for it to become alive. Then I added my salt, oil, and sweet. This recipe also had me add apple cider vinegar to make the dough nice and pliable, which it did. I mixed these ingredients  around and began adding flour. As I started to knead the dough I noticed that it felt very heavy and dense, usually the dough feels more light and airy. I shrugged off my concerns and put my newly kneaded ball of dough in a bowl to rise. Only it didn’t.

After one hour I went to check on the dough and it looked exactly the same. Not good. I left it another hour and still no results. By this time David was home and it was time to put the pizza in the oven. We decided to give it a try anyway. I rolled the dough out and we slathered on some sauce, fresh mozzarella, and basil from our garden. I put the pizza in the oven for 20 minutes and hoped that something good would happen, or just something.

After 20 minutes I pulled it out and it looked pretty much the same but the crust had turned a golden brown so that was good. We each took a slice and tried a bite. Holy cow it was good! I mean the pizza could have stood on it’s own and when you held up your slice it stood straight out and didn’t even waver, but it was crispy, dense, and yummy. I don’t know if I’ll ever get the same results again but I liked the unrisen pizza just fine. So if you make your own pizza dough sometime, have no fear if it doesn’t rise! Here’s a close up of our pizza from last night.

Cheesy Goodness

